Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 05 XB9SX Oil Change???? Help

05 XB9SX Oil Change???? Help

Hey guys, Noob here. Just got my buell and wanting to do a fluid change, crankcase and primary. Who uses what oils, how much does this thing hold and what size is the oil filter(part #)
    No Harley Dealer is open today, hoping to get everything at autozone.

Any tips and advice are welcomed.

Thanks guys!

Take your pick Mobile 1 20w50 full Synthetic, both holes. I like Amsoil but you wont find it today.

Here`s some oil filters.
    ACDelco # UPF1233
    Amsoil SDF10, EA009, EA010 (1/2€longer=more oil)
    Bosch # 3311
    Car Quest 85394
    Champion # C138
    Fram # PH4967
    HD # 63806-004 or 00y?
    HiFloFiltro #HF177
    K&N # hp-1003, KN-177
    Mighty # m4477
    Napa # 1394
    Mobil 1 # M1-103
    Motorcraft # FL836
    Penzoil # pz39
    Purolator # L14476
    STP # S4967
    Valvoline # vo40
    Wal-Mart Super Tech # ST4967
    Wix # 51394
    Union Sangyo[OEM Toyota Mfg]#C-170
    SCOTTS PERFORMANCE BILLET OIL FILTER

2 1/2 q in swing arm
    1 q in primary
    4 oz in new oil filter

Make sure your o rings are in great shape play it safe replace they are cheap

Make sure that you screw in the dipstick all the way to check the hot oil. Mine doesn't read at all, even when hot, until I screw it in.

Ride motorcycle for approximately 10 minutes to ensure the oil is hot and the engine is at normal operating temperature.

Per the Buell Owners Manual:

# 1. The motorcycle must be on level ground, on the side stand, with the engine off.

# 2. See Filler Plug/Dipstick Location: XB Models. Unscrew and remove dipstick from oil tank/swing arm filler hole. Wipe dipstick clean.

# 3. Insert dipstick into oil tank filler hole, screwing dipstick in completely.
    Last edited by Silverrider; 02-26-2017 at 04:55 PM.

Thanks man you are awesome! Any other tips?!?

Quote Originally Posted by buell248 View Post