Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Introducing myself and my new to me '03 XB9S

Introducing myself and my new to me '03 XB9S

Hi everyone. I've been riding for the past 16 years (EX500, SV650, RC51, C50T, XL1200C, Bullet 500, TW200, Speed Triple, and now the XB9S). I've always been interested in the Buell since seeing a lightning at Bike Week about 15 years ago, and definetly have a thing for 2 cylinder bikes.

I am heading out on a 10 day tour of Nova Scotia at the end of the month on my Speed Triple, but came across this absolutely mint XB so I had to pick it up and put it in the garage until I return home to sell the Triumph.

I'm hoping to tap into the experience here and learn a few things about these bikes and mine in particular. Here are a few shots of the bike and what I know about it so far.

IMG_20170604_120753.jpgIMG_20170604_120803.jpgIMG_20170604_120821.jpgIMG_20170604_120834.jpgIMG_20170604_120847.jpg

I fould out upon getting it home that this one is an XB9S Low. How can I confirm that it is a factory Low and not just part swapped? Not sure how I feel about that as far as handling goes, time will tell I suppose.

The first owner had it signed by Erik Buell(that's that faded smudge looking thing on the frame).

The rear frame and seat was replaced with parts from a "long" model. I have the work order with all the parts and part numbers, but don't really understand the long model. Is the setup from a City or could you get any bike in a long model? The seat itself is super comfortable compared to the short factory seat and instead of being smooth vinyl is is somewhat of a textured material.