Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: XB9S '03 Diagnostic assistance - erratic running seemingly temp related

XB9S '03 Diagnostic assistance - erratic running seemingly temp related

2003 XB9s 8k miles, Buell race ECU and exhaust - otherwise standard and been running perfectly for years. In England so air temp is 10-20c. I have been riding bikes with carbs for 30 years and hopefully people can advise on this issue as I suspect a knowledge of how the ECU takes input from sensors etc may be key to solving my issue. Symptoms:
    1, Until a few months ago it would start instantly from cold without touching the throttle - then it needed the throttle opening a little before it would fire up - but after that ran OK. If you stopped it seconds after first starting it and then it would restart instantly without needing to touch throttle.
    2, The first symptom remained and then as warms up (says 10 mins into a ride) reluctant to take normal/moderate/large rapid opening of throttle with hesitancy and flatness like either being choked or ignition timing out. Will accelerate if throttle opened very slowly, but not past 5.5k Then if you stop bike and leave for a while - 10 mins plus it runs much worse - starts on 1 cylinder and then takes a few minutes of riding before other cylinder starts. This leads me to think the heat of the stationary engine is "soaking" into the faulty item making it worse - but after 10 mins riding the passing air has cooled it down enough to let it function well enough for both cylinders to run - but same flatness/hesitancy. Occasionally after very gently opening the throttle for a while it will then take larger throttle openings without the hesitancy/choking.
    Initial thoughts pointed to intake seals. they were fine with no leaks and put in new ones and same issues remain. I have read through many old postings, but cannot see same scenario.