Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Embarrassing beginner question

Embarrassing beginner question

I've contemplated posting this for a bit because I'm a bit embarrassed to say. I'm nervous about opening the throttle too much. This is my first year riding and started off on a Cb500 for a couple months before moving to this bike. I've also read it's easy to wheelie on a Buell so im apprehensive about going too hard.

So my question is this, how do I get myself more comfortable with the power? I've noticed under normal circumstances I'm already getting to the speed limit faster than the rest of traffic and always ahead of the pack.

But I feel like there are times when I could go harder on the throttle but I hesitate because I'm scared of the power... What do I do if I feel the front wheel coming up? Will it be noticeable right away? The same questions for losing traction on the rear wheel. I'm not interested in racing, I want to improve my riding skill. Just to add I don't think I've gone past halfway on the throttle yet, about 2k city km I've put on it so far.

Thanks in advance guys!

Good question Tankster, Not to worry ,you have clocked up 2K , you should feel comfortable with your bike and controls, a XB is not going to fly up unexpected or do a burn out unless you want it to and you would have to work at it. Just each time you ride just give it a little more RPMs in the higher gears on strait roads you will feel more comfortable each time. Just remember there is a time and place for every thing, pick the right place to play and have safe fun. This is not really me 40 years ago , or is it HMMM

002.jpg wheel up02.jpg
    Last edited by Silverrider; 08-19-2017 at 03:46 PM.