Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cooter does upholstery!

Cooter does upholstery!

Whats the matter fatty? Did you rip your seat cover? Well, ol' Coot is here to help. Grab a beer, sit down, an lemme learn ya with some of the heavy knowledge.
    I like my upholstery like my girlfriends. Cheap and easy! $32 bucks and an hour is all this took me and I'm FAR from a pro. If you know better please post up and tell me how I screwed up

Not much of a rip, but ugly. the key is to catch it before the foam gets damaged. There are ways to fix the foam too, but the easiest way to fix it... is to not have too.

pull it off and flip it over. see them staples? Ya theres a lot of them and you'll be taking out everyone of them
    Note how the front corners are done, that wrap makes them much stronger without a place for a tear to start.

edit: and Eff you photo bucket! I'm not paying $399 a year to host pics! Thank you Flickr
    Last edited by Cooter; 08-30-2017 at 01:18 AM.

Don't be scared! Whats the worst that could happen? No, don't ask that...
    Lots of ways to remove staples, even the classic "staple remover" can work, but usually need a thicker padded material to get under the staple. With this hard material and the plastic base I like to use small, SHARP, side cutters.
    IMG_0998 by Cooter!, on Flickr

get comfy... you'll be doing this for awhile. 179 times. Not that I was counting
    IMG_1003 by Cooter!, on Flickr

Of course, you got all your supplies first right?? You'll need good material. Marine vinyl is more expensive and mandatory for doing it right. I got one yard for the grand total of $14. Remember one yard is 3' long but still the length of the whole roll. It's enough to do this 2 or 3 times! I found this Carbon Fiber look, but there was all sorts of options. Look in the scrap bin! You only need about 3'X2'. The rainbow sparkle was VERY hard to resist!

IMG_0999 by Cooter!, on Flickr
    IMG_1001 by Cooter!, on Flickr