Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Low oil light after Buelltooth tune download?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    16

    Low oil light after Buelltooth tune download?



    Members don't see the above ad. Register now - it's free!
    I flashed my ECM last night from my android phone using a tune from the Buelltooth web site. Afterwards I fired the bike up and now my oil light stays on. Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    110
    possibly a corrupted map. I would re-download, and re-flash. Bike run fine?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    16
    Yea it ran ok, what I think is expected for a newly reflashed ECM at idle. The idle was a little higher and it seemed like the throttle was a little more crisp. Due to the weather I couldn't ride it so its hard to say without going through the gears.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    110
    You did a TPS reset after the flash right, prior to start up?
    Reason i think its a possibly corrupted map is i loaded one like that once, that had many zeros in the fuel map, when it got corrupted transferring the data between programs. Any who, it threw a few codes haha, so i know it can happen from the map.

    However, have you checked the dip stick? Possible you actually are low on oil?

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by tokinbuller View Post
    You did a TPS reset after the flash right, prior to start up?
    Reason i think its a possibly corrupted map is i loaded one like that once, that had many zeros in the fuel map, when it got corrupted transferring the data between programs. Any who, it threw a few codes haha, so i know it can happen from the map.

    However, have you checked the dip stick? Possible you actually are low on oil?
    Yes I did the TPS reset before start up. Oil is good. Light was never on before the reflash. Now that I think about it, it slipped my mind to even check and see if it was throwing any fault codes. I will check that today. I will also try and reflash it and see what happens. I will also charge my battery today before hand it seems a little weak on start up.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Cooter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Crawling up your skirt
    Posts
    4,350
    I don't believe the low oil pressure light signal even goes through the ECM. It's old skool. Simply a wire from the sending unit to the dash to turn on the light. You could follow the wire on the wiring diagram to be sure.Check to see you didn't knock the wire off of the sender. There is no amount of 'corrupted mapping' that could make that light turn on.

    Sometimes a super low idle won't build enough pressure to turn the light off (but you mentioned idling higher), and the light will certainly be on with the key on/bike off.
    Last edited by Cooter; 12-06-2017 at 11:11 PM.

  7. #7
    Senior Member lunaticfringe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    AmishLand, PA.
    Posts
    6,619
    Quote Originally Posted by Cagedup View Post
    I flashed my ECM last night from my android phone using a tune from the Buelltooth web site. Afterwards I fired the bike up and now my oil light stays on. Any ideas?
    precisely what shaughn said. one has absolutely nothing to do with the other. DO NOT continue to run the motor until you determine what happened there. possibilities are: debris clogging sending unit port.....dislodged signal wire....air-bound oiling system via swingarm....loose filter.....low oil level.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    16
    SORRY GUYS IT WAS NOT THE OIL LIGHT! HAHA! It was the check engine light.

    I checked the fault codes last night and it says "sidestand input always high"... Any ideas? Does the kick stand have a switch on it and if so why would I be getting this code after a ECM reflash when I wasn't getting it before?

  9. #9
    Senior Member AZmidget91's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    1,658
    Using an EEPROM that wasn't for your bike....

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by AZmidget91 View Post
    Using an EEPROM that wasn't for your bike....
    Wrong firmware? The firmware versions were the same (BUEZD). The tune was sent to me from the guys at Buelltooth. It is a EBR race tune for BUEZD firmware.

    I would assume the wrong firmware and the bike wouldn't run or at least do more that throw a (sidestand input always high) engine code. The bike runs great.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •