PDA

View Full Version : Spark Knock

yellowbezz
01-07-2008, 09:40 PM
I have had my Ulysses 2006 now for just over a year.I got it in Phoenix and used that crap gas there for 1 year. I got what sound like spark Knock after about 4k I am a HD tech, so not a new kid on the block. I but it on digital tech all is normal, check timing it was dead on I have retarded it 2(dig) still there, new plugs no help. I got back to CA were the fuel is better and am running 101 octain fuel a bit better but still there. I am thinking I have carbin biuld up on my pistons and heads. What Do you THINK. Has any one other than me had this happen to then

yellowbezz
01-07-2008, 10:57 PM
ANY ONE I CAN'T BELEAVE I AM THE ONLY ONE WITH THIS PROB

typeone
01-07-2008, 11:46 PM
my 12 used to ping all the time in the summer. tried retarding the timing but it got weaker, and retarding the static timing actually can compound your issue since you are actually removing fuel as well.

i went nuts trying to track it down but eventually worked its way out as i tuned my mods.

i would try running a few tank fulls of Chevron Techron through it along with top quality, high octane gas from a station thats busy. even better if its a multi-pump type rather than single for all octane types.

only time i experience ping now is if i'm sitting in traffic for a ridiculous amount of time and i get on it coming off a light. i just get some air on the motor before romping on it again in that situation. never even think about it these days.

try the Techron and see if that helps clean things up.

MrOrange
01-08-2008, 03:20 AM
I'm with typeone, when my XB9s is really hot I get a little off idle knock/ping. Only when the bike is really HOT though, I hope that helps...

keghead
10-17-2008, 07:20 PM