PDA

View Full Version : Need Help Bad!

Achtenberg
09-01-2010, 08:49 PM
I bought a 2002 Buell X1 Lightning used from someone on craigslist. Unfortunately i really do not know much about bikes mechanically and have had one break down after another about a month from the purchase.

What I know it needs:

ECU needs to be tuned or replaced with the stock part (i would prefer it to be tuned)

I need the bored out exhaust replaced

What is currently wrong:

Just about every time i slow down and come to stop thick white smoke with a very slight faint bluish tint pours from the exhaust. It burns oil and i have to put it in before i take it out every time to keep it in the clear. Oil is leaking from the heads. Possible blown head/head gasket?

It is my only vehicle and i am no longer driving it to keep it from getting worse, if you could please tell me what you think my problem may be and how to fix it i would be much appreciative. Also i am in need of cheap parts being a college student I do not make much. I will trade my pipe (and some cash if needed) which is a bored out D&D racing pipe for one that is not bored out, i work nights so what like it quieter not to mention it runs more efficiently. I would prefer something like a Vance & Hines or another D&D.

Cronce1125R
09-01-2010, 08:54 PM
Oil is leaking from the heads. Possible blown head/head gasket?
when i think of head gasket the first thing that comes to mind is liquid in the heads, i hope it all works out for you bud, if you're still in contact with the guy you bought it from maybe give him a call or take it to a local shop. i'm not 100% with the older bikes (x1, cyclone, ect...), but im sure someone will be able to help you soon. gook luck and best wishes.

Achtenberg
09-01-2010, 09:15 PM