PDA

View Full Version : New here... New to Bikes... Just bought a blast!

KILLER
05-27-2008, 07:15 PM
Hey out there!

First off just want to say thanks for the space.. it's always good to find a specific forum for things you're interested in!

Now, I just bought and 02 Blast Saturday, it only has 6600 miles on it... I'm brand new to riding.. so I've only driven up and down the rd in my subdivision a couple times!! lol.. BUT I was told when I purchased that it had a weird idle, and that the carburettor needed to be cleaned out... or that it could be injectors...

What i'm noticing with this bike is that it kinda sputters when you first start it.. and if you're not constantly giving it some throttle it just flat dies...

any suggestions?? i'm a DIY'er and i've got the full manual that the "buell techs" would use (for lack of better terminology there)... Now like i said i'm completely new to bikes... so i don't know if there is something i can mix in with the gas to maybe clean everything up (kinda like in a car) or not.

anyways i'd really appreciate a little bit of insight on the matter!!!!

thanks again so much for the opportunity to post here!!!

GatorBuell
05-27-2008, 08:47 PM
Sounds like you got some tarnish in the fuel system from old gas. Open the cap and smell the gas a see if it has a weird smell to it. I use some stuff called SeaFoam on my Yamaha Rhino but I dont know how well of if you should use it on your Blast.
I would say drain your gas out and put some 93 octane in it and ride it around for a while if you have not already.

GatorBuell
05-27-2008, 08:50 PM
Oh ya congratulations on the Bike. My I suggest a beginners riders course, You will learn a lot and make you a better beginner. [up]

His_and_Her_Buells
05-28-2008, 02:01 PM