PDA

View Full Version : New, asking possibly dumb questions.

doin reserch
03-11-2007, 10:55 PM
Hey guys,
I just had some questions about the Buell XB12. I am considering a new bike and have had Honda, Suzuki, and Kawasaki's in the past. So I'm not new to sport bikes. But I am new to a v twin bike. I am considering this due to my taste changing as I have gotten older for a more naked bike and the Buell XB really gets me excited since its been some years from my last cycle. I am one to do major modification on aesthetics and some performance on motor etc.. So I had some questions before purchase. And yes I did do some searching on this site and others but couldn't quite find what I was looking for.

Do you know of anybody replacing the motor for an after market S & S or other v twin?

Does the exhaust on the Buell XB just increase HP or back pressure due to its baffling? If so how much? Why couldn't you run straight exhaust like those custom cruisers do with no muffler?

Are wide rear tire kits hard to get? How about like "Hillbilly motors Hellbender"?

Is there any extra room under the fake gas tank / cover? Whats in the tail section other than the rear light? Electronics? Battery? fluid reservoir?

Thanks for your time. I know these are probably some silly questions but like I said, I am a heavy modifier...

mrdozer2you
03-12-2007, 12:23 PM
Don't do it they are problems waiting to happen. Read my post "BIG Mistake" Stay away from the BUELL. Unless you feel like devoting 80% of your time in the garage wrenching (or waiting for a dealership to fix it) and about 20% riding. Just guessing on percentages because since purchasing mine I have been unable to get it out of my garage yet due to problems with the bike.

azsnow
03-12-2007, 01:12 PM