PDA

View Full Version : uly x lowering

BuellyBagger
05-18-2011, 07:00 PM
alrite... i have been doin a lil researching. the ulyxt has just under an inch lower grounf clearance than an x. Im short as hell and tired of fightin my x's ride height, but im too cheap to go buy a new bike. so im thinkin the fork springs and rear spring from a xt should fit a 07 x and then id be set (if i can get the parts). Am i thinkin right here?? anyone know if the parts are available???

mailtoome
05-19-2011, 11:14 AM
Check out my pics. U can DIY if your willing n mechanically incline. If u have any questions, Lmk.

BuellyBagger
05-19-2011, 06:14 PM
nice bike mailtoome... i c what u did to lower it and ive seen pre-made brackets to do just that and ive also considered it myself(im not to shaby at fab. i do body and paint for a living). but i also wanna drop the front and i thought of installing higher risers on the bars and sliding the forks up in the trees but ive heard thatll cause head shake so im kinda leanin toward springs but thanx 4 the suggestion...

steve92106
06-15-2011, 01:46 PM
After riding Harleys and having just gotten my Uly XT and ordering the tall saddle for the added leg clearance, I have zero sympathy. I think taller riders get less consideration than shorter riders, especially from Harley designers. OTOH, I now have the low OEM saddle if anyone wants to make an offer. I live in SD. I think they go for $111 new. I don't know how much it lowers the seating position but the tall version added 1.5" over the original stock seat.

jjellyneck
06-15-2011, 07:21 PM
Totally agree with Steve92106. Almost all rider with an inseam longer than 33" is in pain after riding most bikes for awhile.
I also have a low seat and will trade for a high one. Located in Austin, TX.

dmcneil
10-08-2011, 06:21 AM
Hi ijellyneck, I have a 2006 High seat in great condition that I would like to trade for a low seat if you are interested.

ROJ
06-04-2019, 09:39 PM