PDA

View Full Version : New xb12r owner...quick question

SpOoLiN2
07-27-2011, 11:08 AM
I’ve always been fascinated with Buells ever since I seen one and heard one for the first time. I’ve been riding Jap bikes for 10 years now and I finally figured it was time for a change. I just sold my ’05 R1 and then I bought a ’06 xb12r on the same day. I love the bike. And it’s defiantly different from all my other bikes, but it’s different in a very good way.
I do have a question which I need help with. I’ve read through and searched the forum, and I can’t seem to find a solid answer. The tuning of the ECM is really giving me the creeps for I’ve never done anything like that before and I don’t want to mess up my new bike.
From what I heard and read, the ’06 airbox sucks… So I was going to buy a ’07 from ASB and just swap mine out with it… My question is: will I need to have my ECM tuned for just a ’07 airbox upgrade?
[confused]

2004xb12s
07-27-2011, 11:17 AM
Its not necessary to swap airbox's....really the 06's work just fine. You aren't gonna see a difference.

J_Undisputed
07-27-2011, 11:43 AM
The more aerated version of the box top started in 07, I think. Most 06'ers and prior just drilled holes or dremmeled their airboxes or deleted them all together.

If you're bike's exhaust and air filter are stock, I don't think the tuning is necessary. If you're changing the airflow in(airbox delete mod, High flow filter) and out(aftermarket/modded stock exhaust), you might want to tune it. The interactive exhaust valve can only do so much on it's own.

Look a Member call The Octopus, if you're interested in learning the ins and outs of Tuning and datalogging.

SpOoLiN2
07-27-2011, 11:56 AM
Thank you fella's... i appreciate it

xtreme
07-27-2011, 11:58 AM
Negatotry no ecm tune. Know when you decide to do exhaust and K&N filter, your gonna need a tune, or you can buy a pretuned Race ECM from EBR, Thats what I personally did and it worked out great.

captain chaos