PDA

View Full Version : Spring primary tensioner?

exhawgdoctor
05-11-2012, 08:04 PM
I'm very new to the Buell Blast but VERY familiar with big twins. Just got a used 8K miles 2001 Blast for putting to town & back,& know nothing about them. Thought they were just half a Sporty motor but apparently not. There's a clatter from the primary chain area on slight acceleration, is this normal? I tried to check the chain adjustment but as you know there's no inspection cover on the Blast (dum?) & it's really difficult to check it through the clutch pushrod cover. However, I tried adjusting it a la Sportster but the noise got worse (i think) so after further tightening & checking with a long thin screwdriver it appears I might have a sprung aftermarket tensioner. Are these out there? If so & it is a sprung tensioner I guess I need to tighten it some more. Don't really want to take off the primary cover to look at it if I can avoid it.

pierce
05-11-2012, 08:39 PM
You are hearing your primary chain (as you thought). The blast does not have an inspection cover, so you just need to adjust the bolt underneath, which puts pressure on the chain via a shoe. What I would do is adjust it until you no longer hear the clanking, then go for a ride. clanking comes back adjust slightly in Its better to have it lose than tight.

The pushrods are on the opposite side of the inspection cover. The inspection cover only allows you to adjust the clutch, and add oil.

pierce
05-11-2012, 08:46 PM
I should clarify, the blast has a cover for the clutch, but not the Harley inspection cover for the primary chain adjuster. I have a lot experience with both, and they are often confused. On the balst, we are talking about the three bolt cover that looks like a shamrock. On a sporster, its the small circular cover above that. The blast doesnt have that.

Buells, Harley's - they all have the same "stuff". The Buell's like to think of themselves as being different, but its pretty much the same.