PDA

View Full Version : One header tube different color than the other. why??

kha12
10-03-2008, 01:51 PM
whats up people? im new to the group. nice to be amongst the like-minded. my 04 xb12r has ~9.5k miles and i took this picture the other day and noticed how the 2 header tubes are colored differently. a friend told me it was the result of a lean running engine. id really appreciate any insight. http://www.buellxb.com/buell_images/2598_20081003060405_L.jpg

Stevenc150
10-03-2008, 05:26 PM
I've read on several posts on here that pipes will turn blue because of a rich condition. Though I'm no expert, I'm just relaying what I've read.

Without an actual Air/Fuel check, I would think the closest thing to actually tell whether you're bike was running lean or not would be to inspect the spark plugs. The pipe colors I wouldn't worry about, they look normal. I've never seen a Buell that had been rode awhile without the "blue pipe" look. :)

oxygen151
10-03-2008, 06:09 PM
Agreed. All the buell pipes I have seen look similar to that, I wouldnt worry too much about it. Is that D&D exhaust? I am looking to pick one up over the winter, how do you like yours??

Thaloc
10-03-2008, 06:45 PM
Its blue cuzz its running lean, and It always blue close to the top. All bikes come from the factory running lean cuzz where we live and how we ride isnt factory conditions. If you havnt had a remap, or a race chip done/installed you will run leaner with the aftermarket exhaust, also if you have an K&N Air filter or any high flow air filter that will add to the prob. Are you the original owner? Know if the ecm has been remapped, or race emc?
http://www.buellxb.com/buell_images/2043_20080905130329_L.jpg
Those are my heads off my 08 xb12R

XBear9S
10-03-2008, 07:11 PM
I'm surprised that none of the big dogs ain't chimed in on this one...
It is b/c the bike's running lean.
That is how they come from the factory.
You can adjust it with a remap and it will help.