PDA

View Full Version : Sputtering out ...

paerez
10-22-2008, 09:46 PM
Hey guys,

I am not a mechanical person, I am more of a computer geek, so I'm going to do my best to describe what is going on.

In the past two weeks it has become much colder in Maryland, from 70s-80s to 50s. When I start my bike (2002 blast) I wait 1-2 minutes until it idles down at a normal speed.

What's been happening to me is that it has started to sputter out as I'm riding. Especially when I give it gas when starting at a stop light. It will get going like usual then the power cuts for a half second, then kicks back in, then cuts out. It does that a few times then it sputters and dies. I pulled it over, switched to reserve because I thought I was out of gas, and started it up. Then as I got going the same thing happened. I swapped it back to the usual fuel, and it keeps doing it. It only has 80 miles on the current tank, so I don't think it's fuel.

I rode it home but I'm not taking it out again until I figure out what's going on. I made sure the stand was all the way up because I read about how if the stand sensor is messing up you can lose power, but this is more of a sputtering than an immediate kill to the power.

Any hints?

GatorBuell
10-22-2008, 11:46 PM
Check your battery connections, and the spark plug wire to make sure everything is tight and seated well.

ezblast
10-23-2008, 03:17 AM
Das Boot!
EZ

paerez
10-23-2008, 12:49 PM
Thanks ezblast. Now I have a keyword to search for, that's just what I needed.

My buddy has the service manual so I'll go grab the part at my local HD store.

OEM Replacement part #27443-00Y

Found more info here:
http://www.sporttwin.com/Forums/viewtopic/p=42127.html

Thanks again.

chadprepton
10-23-2008, 02:31 PM
Hey Paerez, what part of Maryland are you from? I'm in Frederick county if you ever want to get together for a ride.
chad.prepton@gmail.com

paerez
10-23-2008, 08:18 PM
Hey Chad,