PDA

View Full Version : Ads covering post text



Justaerin
07-16-2012, 06:47 PM
Hey all,

I'm using FF13.0.1 on WinXP. The vertical ads on the sidebar cover the text of the first post in any thread. I'm at work, so I can't install any other browsers or browse on IE since traffic through IE is proxied/filtered/inspected. I've tried using the zoom options in FF, but it doesn't really help. Nor does stretching the window, I usually have to copy out the text and read it in notepad. I'm somewhat administratively locked down on this PC. Any advice?

snrusnak
07-16-2012, 07:01 PM
I use chrome and still get them. [confused]

iman501
07-16-2012, 07:10 PM
Happens on my iPhone to

konarider94
07-16-2012, 07:11 PM
try putting adblock on firefox. its just an addon. i know it will block ads because i use it but im not sure if it requires administrative privileges or not

Alfatango1
07-16-2012, 07:15 PM
It only happens to me on some post with FF. It's seems to be only the ones when people don't resize their pictures.

Justaerin
07-16-2012, 07:20 PM
It only happens to me on some post with FF. It's seems to be only the ones when people don't resize their pictures.

This looks to be accurate for me as well. Good catch.

I'd love to install adblock, but can't here. Plus, for such a great forum, it seems kinda wrong to block the revenue-generators haha. I feel like it's the price I pay to be a part of the community :)

konarider94
07-16-2012, 07:31 PM
i block ads because ive gotten a virus from a banner ad.

iman501
07-16-2012, 07:49 PM
Well don't click on the banners with te naked women, who are lonely and in your area!

Justaerin
07-16-2012, 07:55 PM
But they're in my area and want to meet me right away!! The ad says so!

konarider94
07-16-2012, 08:23 PM
news flash you dont need to click some of the banner ads to get a virus from them.

Justaerin
07-16-2012, 09:17 PM
I know, I understand code vulnerabilities well enough. But come on, it's still funny, we've all seen those ads and how ridiculous they are.

FlaXB9R
07-16-2012, 09:33 PM
i block ads because ive gotten a virus from a banner ad.


Well don't click on the banners with te naked women, who are lonely and in your area!


news flash you dont need to click some of the banner ads to get a virus from them.


Looks like someone just got put on front street and isn't to happy about it :D


http://www.motifake.com/image/demotivational-poster/small/0910/grandpa-grandpa-internet-porn-pervert-uncle-pervie-shopping-demotivational-poster-1256185368.jpg

twoguns
07-16-2012, 09:40 PM
i thought this was only an issue if someone posted a pic in the thread that was larger than the script width?

konarider94
07-17-2012, 12:22 AM
i thought this was only an issue if someone posted a pic in the thread that was larger than the script width?


yea but how many forums have you been on where that is an issue. this is the only one i have used that cant handle bigger pictures.

sparky300
07-17-2012, 01:57 AM
^AND, doesn't have the option to enable mail notifications AND doesn't have a SENT mail folder, only an inbox

FlaXB9R
07-17-2012, 02:20 AM
It is the browser that is the problem reformatting Internet Explorer does have that issue at all so it's not the site. If you can't use a different browsers your pretty much screwed. I use Chrome for the most part but also have a tab on IE dedicated just for that reason.

Justaerin
07-17-2012, 06:09 AM
Meh, I'll live with it. I can install Chrome, though IT will get flagged. Luckily I'm a Net Admin and can claim it's for testing purposes :)

FlaXB9R
07-17-2012, 10:51 AM
Chrome has the same issue. The only browser I have seen that didn't is IE.

Justaerin
07-17-2012, 03:48 PM
Ah well.

EricZ
07-17-2012, 04:11 PM
Thanks for the adblock recommendation! I never knew it existed until I read this post. It works great!

konarider94
07-17-2012, 05:41 PM
Thanks for the adblock recommendation! I never knew it existed until I read this post. It works great!


[up]there is also an extension for chrome which is what i mostly use now.