PDA

View Full Version : Matte Black 1125

BurningExample
10-23-2013, 02:37 PM
So after no luck trading / selling my 1125 this year. I have decided to remove the plastics and repaint them Matte black. does anyone have any advice on how to do this? I.e what paint to use and stuff? i read a few threads about it already but never quite understood them. I'm a novice painter at best and am just going for a new look. any help or suggestions on whitch paint o buy would be appreciated thank you

John422
10-23-2013, 02:42 PM
So you can use sand paper from 200 to 600 the lower the number the more rough your finish will be. Make sure you use the same grit over every piece as a final sand before paint. Good luck!

brock
10-23-2013, 04:12 PM
i would not use anything less then 600-800. you dont need to create a rough base for a matte finish. just scuff the glossy surface so the paint can adheare to it.
i love the matte look thats what my bike will be.

BurningExample
10-23-2013, 05:44 PM
how much should i scuff off? like get hardcore and scuff each piece for like 20 minutes? or a quick little scratching and call it good

chevy42083
10-23-2013, 07:27 PM
The nose might be difficult... but personally, I'd go with car wrap. Best way to get a perfect matte finish... unless you're a pro painter. Totally reversable too.
http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_trksid=p2050601.m570.l1313&_nkw=3m+1080+matte+black&_sacat=0&_from=R40

They make a satin black that has a little more shine to it. Use "wrap cut" tape so you never have to put a blade to your paint.

I just hear so many problems getting black smooth, and matte paint even.

heagachongoose
10-23-2013, 08:05 PM