PDA

View Full Version : Whining clutch

chiboy
04-10-2009, 04:54 PM
Has anyone heard a whining noise as your disengage the clutch coming from a complete stop? It sounds like an electric motor when you move it manually. The sound is only just as its disengaging. Once the clutch is completely out and in gear, the sound goes away.
Any ideas? I am new to the XB as I had a M2 before.

Stevenc150
04-10-2009, 05:21 PM
Never had that happen to me. I do know there's 2 places for clutch adjustment.

-One is on the right side of the bike inside of a rubber "boot" thing you can adjust amount of cable play.

-The other, the one you probably need to look at adjusting, is behind you're clutch cover on the Primary. Hopefully, adjusting this one will fix your problem.

Just Click the "Buell Service Manuals" link at the top of this page. Dowload one of the Service Manuals and save. A very valuable, and FREE resource. It might not match your bike for year/model exactly, but the clutch adjustments on all XB's are basically identical.

And Welcome to the Forum. :)[up]

FIDOSOL
04-10-2009, 07:47 PM
Check inside your primary and look for anything that might be rubbing where it shouldn't. New noises are often caused by a new occurence. Also look for metal shavings in your primary fluid.

chiboy
04-10-2009, 08:26 PM
I did try to the clutch adjustment in front of the motor behind the rubber boot. I took out some slack in the cable. It helped a little in terms of how loud the whine is, but its still there. I am hoping that I dont need a new clutch.

Stevenc150
04-11-2009, 02:29 AM
I did try to the clutch adjustment in front of the motor behind the rubber boot. I took out some slack in the cable. It helped a little in terms of how loud the whine is, but its still there.
Forgot to mention earlier, most importantly, check you're primary fluid level and make sure it's good.