PDA

View Full Version : Modification help xb12x

Tray3
07-30-2014, 05:07 AM
I am new to a recent purchase of a 2006 xb12x with only 4000 miles. I would like to ask for help on modification for getting more out of it. I have read many post about ebr ecm and k&n , and muffler upgrades. Most have lead me to believe that this is a waste of money, with no gain. Can someone that has done this reply with their opinion. It seems that the local bike shop I took it to said that " power commander is the way to go, but when I looked online there is no such item for the xb12x. So I do not think they know what they are talking about. If any one could give me their secret recipe on the best power modification I could do for this stock baby I would appreciate the education. Thank you in advance for your guidance.

Tray3
07-30-2014, 05:20 AM
Also does anybody know a buell expert in the houston area that I could just take it to make the modifications for me. If the ebr ecm , k&n , and muffler upgrade is a waste , how about the big bore 1250 cylinder upgrade, has anyone have an opinion about that modification. I just wanted to at least get 10k out of stock cylinders first before I went to that extreme.

Cosworth
07-30-2014, 11:14 AM
Sounds like the local bike shop doesnt know what they are talking about. I dont know of anyone that uses a powercommander on the buells (im sure someone does) its more of a piggyback system. Its better to either tune or buy a tuned ECM that corresponds with the exhaust you pick. If your running stock exhaust there are a few ponies to be had by getting a better exhaust and ECM but not a whole lot. go to americansportbike.com and look at the XB exhaust shootout its got all of the dynos etc. The 1250 kit is pretty nice and makes a few more ponies but its still not going to be the fastest bike on the block, but hopefully you werent expecting it to be.

Anyways welcome, enjoy your buell!