PDA

View Full Version : Working on my first bike.

Nonapplicable90
09-11-2014, 10:37 PM
I just bought my first motorcycle a Buell Blast, I'm pretty new to bikes and it's giving me some issues. I was wondering if anyone could give me some advice and help me trouble shoot. I was sent here from the Buell forum on Reddit, the people there say you guys have a lot of knowledge I can tap into.

So far I'm incredibly happy with the bike but I'd like to remedy the issues that are preventing me from progressing in skill and experience.

Some notes on the bike: 2001 Buell Blast purchased with 2,080 miles on it.

The issue with the bike is it that it has a tendency to stall in various ways. Examples: 1.) when warming up, after the auto choke does it's thing it then begins to sputter down till death. 2.) in first gear at a stop it will also try to sputter out. 3.) in one instance I've had the bike try to stall coming out of a steep grade (going up) 4.) after hitting around 50-65 mph for a few moments the bike stalls( for safety reasons I haven't figured out whether it's stalling going up or coming down from this speed) further it feels underpowered or struggling at 60mph. In most of these instances I can keep it from stalling by giving it a quick throttle.

During some of these stalls I've seen the housing of the carb smoke a little, and with the housing off I've watched the jets spew out small puffs of smoke at idle.

Given the age and milage of this bike, I'm assuming it's the carb that is gunked up a little but I would not mind a little insight from you guys here as to what I should do.

So far I've given it some spray carb cleaner, that's about it.

ReadyXB
09-12-2014, 12:08 AM
Given the age and milage of this bike, I'm assuming it's the carb that is gunked up a little but I would not mind a little insight from you guys here as to what I should do.