PDA

View Full Version : '03 XB9R Triple Tree question

onixiii
04-29-2015, 08:32 PM
I apologize in advance if this is a really stupid question, I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to this stuff!

I'm starting to do some major work on my bike this season ('03 XB9R) along with some mods on it since I finally have the time and money. I was researching top triples and noticed everyone who's replaced their top triples have placed their handle bars over the triple (as shown in the link below).

http://www.freespirits.it/images/immblog/buell/xb12/202815.JPG

I was curious as to whether anyone's done a setup like this ( http://scontent-a.cdninstagram.com/hphotos-xfa1/t51.2885-15/s306x306/e15/10864922_325220354345967_446707450_n.jpg ) where the handle bars are located below the clamp. Asides from possible clearance issues with the front fairing what other issues might arise from this type of setup, and would this negatively impact the handling?

Cmpd22
05-04-2015, 01:46 AM
You have me curious with the tripple tree. I was curious about doing this. Where would one go about getting an upper like this set up?

onixiii
05-07-2015, 02:49 AM
I've still searching myself but haven't been able to find anything. That second picture is just the result of a quick google image search, haven't been able to find out much more about it.

mrlogix
05-07-2015, 03:31 AM
over or under is more of an ergonomic issue. The clip-ons strength is in the mating fit (ring gap is not collapsed) at torque spec. Billet (machined from a solid block of material) is better than cast. They even make Billet clip-ons with 1" risers.