PDA

View Full Version : Ticking after transport?...

newtobuell
05-17-2009, 04:36 PM
Hi all,

I am pretty new to Buell, thus the name! I have been riding mine for a couple of months, no problems at all (except for the head stem bearings which are on the way out)...

I have just moved the bike on a trailer (about a 3 hour drive), it ran fine and quietly (as quiet as it can with a big pipe on it) when I put it on the trailer, and now once I have it off the trailer, it is making a clunking noise, sounde like from the R/H crank casing, or the heads.

I know Buell's have a habit of doing heads, but surely not from being on a trailer!

Any ideas? I'm stumped on this one...

Thanks

LeFox
05-17-2009, 06:53 PM
wouldn't have a clue without hearing it...:o

Trill
05-17-2009, 07:43 PM
you might just be paranoid. The buell makes noises that are normal to it :) Unless you somehow drained all the oil or something I would not worry.

Stevenc150
05-18-2009, 03:14 AM
Welcome to the Forum. :D[up] Maybe you could post up a Youtube vid clip to help out. It'd be next to impossible to diagnose with so little info. You might check for engine codes, it wouldn't take but a second: Engine Diagnosis w/o ECMSpy (http://bcrider.com/DDFI.html)

newtobuell
05-19-2009, 12:00 PM
Yeah,

I have taken the pipes etc off the cylinders now to check for any loose bits and pieces and once I have finished polishing them (may as well while they are off) I will post a vid - and change the oil etc.

I have heard that sometimes under the primary casing on the left hand side that the main nut can come loose and cause a rattle type noise when riding or at idle...

Any others heard this? I might take the case off too while I'm at it and just check that if others have heard of this problem?

Thanks

Stevenc150
05-19-2009, 04:13 PM