PDA

View Full Version : Check Engine light in few miles

sharur
07-01-2009, 11:50 AM
I am brand new to Buell and a owner of a 2008 XB12scg. The bike was delivered with discharged battery, and after an overnight charge the bike fired up. It idles kind of hard, but I am new to the bike and I am not sure.
Took the bike to get some gas, and it seemed to work fine, but was underpowered. I was wondering what are all the Buell fans raving about the torque, this thing needs a lot of throttle to make it go. It did cough and sputter on decelaration. Turn signals were working.
Now, the yellow check engine comes on in a few minutes of riding, no turn signals, no rear light, but I have head light (both low and high).
I did a TPS reset per the manual (08 model), the exhaust valve actuator works (cycles), battery is freshly charged. What could be the problem? Did I foul one plug? I did give some gas during the first start after transport. The trouble light seems to reset once I turn off the engine, but comes back after a few minutes of riding. The bike seems to struggle to gain revs and has very little bottom end power, I have to slip the clutch going uphill from stop.
Any help or suggestions greatly appreciated. I have another bike (BMW), and am somewhat mechanically inclined. Nowhere close to some folks on this forum.

ADAMLEE
07-01-2009, 01:48 PM
Sounds like a similar situation that happened to me.

I have an 06 Xb12Ss. I would ride for a few minutes and as soon as I rev'd up the motor while ridding the light would come on. After a few visits to the stealership they kept telling me I had a dead battery signal. Didn't make sense. Finially i went tothe manager and freaked ut on him. They then took the tme to dig dearper into the problem.