PDA

View Full Version : Oxygen sensor elimination

Ranchero
11-03-2009, 06:42 PM
Hi!

I'm new to tunig Buell but recently bought '03 XB9.
There are many using ECM spy, but I'm lookin an easy way to calibrate injection when used aftermarket exhaust and open intake.
There is Remus Powerizer, TFI, Revtech Stealth are all tunable without dynoruns, but what I'we heard the results are not as good as should. When the chances are made to the air/fuel mix, the oxygen sensor tells the ECM to add more air to keep the mixture in stock settings.
So what we are tryin to do is to make an oxygen sensor eliminator like used in Harleys with, for example, Power Commanders to keep the check engine light out. The O2 sensor eliminator gives a steady Volt amount to ECM to keep the "cheating" settings stable.

I'm not a native english speaker so I hope everyone can understand what I'm after in this case.
Comments, questions, suggestions?

Buellysses
11-03-2009, 08:10 PM
I've never heard of the O2 sensor eliminator you are talking about, but in general all narrow-band O2 sensors (like the one buell uses) operate at the same voltage. So I think you would be safe using one that is designed for a harley motor.

chrispudd
05-24-2010, 11:31 AM
Maybe some Buell techs are on here? When an O2 sensor is disconnected in a car, the pcm assumes a middle value (450mv) maybe just disconnecting it will do the same for the buell ecm? I wish there was someone out there who knew more of how these things operated. I"ve asked a few quetions with no real answers about 02s and the "white wire delete" and no one seems to have a solid answer. Bring on the technical stuff. I love it! There also seems to be a lot of "voodoo" regarding the tps "reset" It's just a Potentiometer and all the ecm wants to see is a specific base voltage at closed throttle...am i right?

aptbldr
05-24-2010, 05:42 PM
ECM's don't want fer nothin'. [smirk]
Throttle Position Sensor, TPS, provides signal to ECM.