PDA

View Full Version : CityX advise

Buellard
10-01-2007, 10:43 PM
Howdy all,

I am a noob to both this forum and to Buells in general. I am seriously considering a CityX as a commuter bike. I will be traveling from San Francisco to just outside of Sacramento, CA four days a week (about 70 miles one way). The weather can be extreme with 40 degree difference in temperature. I love the look, the short wheelbase and the low end torque of this bike. Not really sure about the fly screen or lack there of for protection against the wind. I have not ridden in a while and when I did I rode a CBR1000. Naked bikes typically are not my thing but my girl wants to ride with me on occasion and really doesn’t like being on the back of a crotch rocket. I think this bike might be the one for me but would like to hear what you all have to say.

Thank you for any comments that maybe helpful.

BuellPastor
10-02-2007, 12:32 AM
You can easily get a longer fly screen (American Sportbike). I am sure some guys on here have them. I just came off of a FJR1300 and am actually amazed at how stable my xb12s is on the expressway. I was thinking of doing a flyscreen, but since I really don't do very many long rides right now (usually not more than 60) so I don't think I need one. Is that 70 miles all expressway? I have the full Buell set of bags and they work great. I ride to work most days, but I'm only 6 miles away. So I really can't help. I'll do another long ride this Saturday so maybe I can give more feedback.

About your girlfriend - I would at least take her to sit on the bike. My Buell dealer let me test ride the bike, maybe you both could go. I did and became a proud owner soon after.

His_and_Her_Buells
10-02-2007, 01:55 PM