PDA

View Full Version : Need a Little Newbie Help

Merddyn
10-02-2007, 02:13 PM
Hi all. By the title you can guess that yes, I am a newb. I just bought a 2007 Firebolt XB12R used with 3200 miles on it. This is my first bike and I must say that I LOVE it!! As a little background on me, I live a little north of Dallas, TX. I am 31 years old and work in computers for a living.

Unfortunately, I am having two minor problems that I wanted to get some advice on.

1. The heat on the inside of my right thigh is almost burn level, even through my jeans. Is there a part of some sort that I can buy that will protect me from this? If so, where can I get it? Obviously this is only significant when stuck in stop and go traffic but, as I use the bike for commuting, at least some stop and go is inevitable. I know from my research so far that the heat is normal, but surely there has to be a way to keep from getting burned.

2. My commute ride is 26 miles one way and my hands keep going numb. Is this something that will clear up with time as I gain experience or am I doing something wrong?

Also, while I am asking questions anyway, about how many miles on avg do you guys get off of one tank of gas? I know when the indicator comes on that I should get fuel ASAP, but does anyone know roughly how many miles I can get once the light comes on? I live kind of out there a ways and there are no fuel stations closer than 10 miles of my house so I want to make sure I don't run out of gas. I don't like to push my tank to the limits, but I have to know what the limits are so I can avoid them lol.

I appreciate the help on this.

JSW07
10-02-2007, 03:42 PM
Well I'm not sure about miles wise but in Km's you should get anywhere from 40-60k when the light comes on. I guess that adds up to approx. 25-38 miles?

jackson08
10-02-2007, 03:53 PM
loosen up on your grip on the handle bars, holding to tight causing most if not all that problem. [up]

JSW07
10-02-2007, 04:01 PM