Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: strange noise rebuild

Started rebuilding my xb9s myself. I have no previous bike experience, but, there's lots of info on this site and in the manual. I had a noisy crank bearing last year, and i know it's been a long time but here's my progress so far.. Here's the new pinion bearing and 732 sealant as per manual. Ready to put cases together. Finally! If new pinion bearing and races are purchased, there are 4 possible bearings, only 2 races available, and races must be machined to fit your bearing.

Honed cylinders and installed new rings only. To my inexperienced eye, the pistons looked ok. Rings are only $32 a set anyway. The factory base gasket is made of superhuman material and you will sweat, swear and invent new words in other languages while trying to remove all of it. New gasket set was $215 and updated base gaskets are of thin metal. Hoping thin gasket will reduce squish in cylinder and improve compression and result in a little power. Dare to dream!;) (that's not a crack in the cyl, must be something on my crappy phone camera)

Wash all machined parts in hot soapy water. (when your wife is not looking)

It was easier to compress rings into cylinder with piston NOT on connecting rod. Turn cylinder upside down, compress rings into cyl and push piston in just far enough till wrist pin almost touches bottom of cyl. Then slide cyl. down till wrist pin lines up with connecting rod and just push pin through. Always use a new clip whenever you remove one. Way easier this way than trying to compress rings on a wobbly piston and rod and having it clang into studs and cases.

Installing heads and pushrod covers. It was easier to put o rings in the head for the the covers and install the heads than having the o rings already on the covers. The manual doesn't show you easier ways to do things, you gotta figure it out your self.