Thread: Considering an XB12S

I just wanted yall's thoughts on my situation.

I am looking into starting to ride with some people from work. They all ride Crotch Rockets and use them to carve corners up in the hills.

I am a newb when it comes to riding. I just have a few hours (150 or so miles) of seat time on an 800 Ducati from last friday. Other than that im pretty inexperiecned except for an 80cc 2 stroke I rode around the yard when I was younger.

I want something rare (triumph, duc, buell) and dont want a 4 banger so i came up with the XB12S (cg if i can find one) because one of my buddies has a craving for a Duc and we try not to match each other in my lil group.

Im not scared of litre bikes as long as its a twin and felt very comfortable on the 800 and actually wanted a little more out of it in some of the straights where I got to really see what it had. (Since i was barely doing the speed limit through the twisties i didnt really find myself wathing power there).

So help me out here. Is the XB a good one for me? What do i need to watch for on different year models of the XB? Where do i find one? (the used market is terrible on them and i dont feel like they are worth what alot of people are asking for.) Will i be able to keep up with my buddies once i actually learn to handle a bike or do i need a sport bike to even have a chance?

Thank in advance.

-me

Also I forgot to ask. Is there a 6 speed conversion or anyway to get a 6 speed into this bike. I've looked and i thought i have found one (can't remember the brand and might have just been for harleys, i think iw was a baker conversion), but im not sure.

-me

ok...

the xb12 is a torque bike that will give you a big :D on your face from start to finish and after. a bike with character that will make heads turn and that will draw the attention even when parked between 100 sportbikes.