Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: 2004xb12s Personal Build Thread

Figured I would start my own thread instead of junking up the forum. This is going to be a thread that comes with write-ups for all the beginners out there because I am a buell beginner myself.

Soon to come: I am working on writeups for led kit installation, headlight bezel removal paint and replacement, tail chop, removal of siderails paint and replacement, installing a buellxb dashboard, fat bars, barend mirrors, custom plate holder to accompany the tail chop, and tail lift.

Ok I bought my bike in October of last year and just finally started getting in some moderate modifications. The picture below is the day i brought her home. The bike is a 2004xb12s if you couldn't guess already.

It had a smoked tail light, some dangerously wired LED's, Jardine slip on, k&n, crg levers, and pretty much stock everything except the Insane Clown Posse Tank Sticker that was debeautifying my valencia orange plastics.

This is the start of removing the headlight bezels for paint
    Remove the windscreen obviously

Remove the two black torx bolts holding the bezels to the headlight bracket

Remove the allen keys that hold the bezels to the triple trees they are located in the middle one behind the horn and one opposite of it

I found it easier to remove the bezels if the ignition was unbolted so i went out and bought a tamper proof bit set in order to remove it. You get about 12 pieces for $27 but I had no other choice besides drill holes in my current torx bits.

Don't forget after loosening headlight bezels you must remove the brake line mount that is bolted to the side opposite of the ignition.

This is it with the bezels completely removed

Time for Paint

This is the start of the tail chop and removal of the seat rails for paint. Along with adding and painting Diesel Moto tail lift.

Removal of the cheesegrater, seat rails, and tail lift

Completely removed. Just lay the undertail onto the rear tire.