Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Welding 304 SS to 409 SS

I'm a newbie welder, I have a lincoln MIG(I have only used it as flux core) I bought from home depot or lowes. It's pretty idiot proof, I've only used it to weld mild steel for household lawn equipment, etc.

I want to weld some exhaust pipe for my truck, I THINK the stock exhaust is 409 SS because I know it is stainless but it looks to have minor corrosion. The muffler I bought is 304 SS, can I weld these together using the flux core method? I assume I'll need a different spool of wire for the SS but I'm not really sure.

Any help from you guys that have more experience is appreciated.

Most likely, use 309 ss filler or wire for dissimilar stainless types. Always go one grade higher for stainless for filler, so 304 needs 308, 316 should use 316L, etc. Welding mild steel to 304 stainless, use 309 filler. There's a lot to learn on welding and I know just enough to be somewhat dangerous.

Readily welded but a pre-heat of 150-260°C is recommended. Grade 409 or Grade 430 electrode or filler rods can be used, but AS 1554.6 pre-qualifies welding of 409 with Grade 309 rods or electrodes. These austenitic fillers result in a more ductile weld.

There's a lot to learn on welding
    Yes I've certainly figured that out lol, and the fact that I know little about it and the materials.

I appreciate your help, I have one question I'm confused about. You say to use one grade higher but then say to use 309 ss wire for dissimilar ss types. Since one type will be 409 ss, should I use one grade higher(i.e. 410 or whatever it may be) or 309?

I'm not sure how the grade scale works but assume higher number = higher grade? I was under the impression 304 ss was better than 409 ss (for exhaust applications, anyway....as it is more corrosion resistant, it has more nickel and chromium I think).

Thanks again....I'll have to see if I can find a spool of flux core ss wire.

Found this:

UltraCore® FCP 309L