Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Possible New Buell rider

Hello,

I am a soon to be new rider. And I have put the cart before the horse. I have been looking at bikes recently and I really like the look and feel of the Buell Lighting.

I am a total noob. And I am looking at the XB12scg. I would have bought one from a local HD dealer this past weekend, but they got a bit werid with the asking price. I had a friend test ride it for me, as he is a season rider. And he was suprised at how linear the power was, and said it would be possible for a first bike...if I really took my time with it. I know 1200cc is a bit to start out with, but I don't care for either the crotch rocket or the crusier style bikes. I have looked at the triumph street triple and the suzuki sfv650. But I like the Buell the most.

I'm 5'7" and standing over the bike I had most of the ball of my feet on the ground....not flat footed (XB12scg).

Am I totally insane to start out with this bike? And if I take my time to learn the bike and take the necessary training steps....is the the correct bike for me (size &power)?

Apologies for my total noobness, but I thank anyone for their input.

Cheers!

Pixel

First of all good choice on choosing a Buell i was the same way in choosing a motorcycle. I have a 2008 xb9sx and it is my first bike and i can say that it was very nice for a begginer bike and i think that i will always be happy with the amount of power. i wish i could tell you the difference between the 9 and the 12 but ive never ridden a 12. but if the price is right then go for it:D:D:D

welcome to buellxb.the scg is a great starter bike