Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: 1st Buell, 1st bike

I just bought a 2009 XB12Ss from a friend. This is my first bike and so far I love it, although I am still learning to ride and have not really gotten the full Buell experience.

From what I've learned, Buell seems like a great American motorcycle company and I don't understand why Harley shut it down. I love all the engineering that went into the bike design.

The bike has a little over 14000 miles and my buddy took awesome care of it (for example; for the 5000 service he would have gone over 5000 miles driving to the dealer so he put in on his trailer and towed it there!). He has all the service records (everything was done at the dealer he got it from and hes the original owner), receipts for everything and all the stock parts. He but the illuminator taillight kit on, bar end mirrors, Drummer SS exhaust, K&N air filter and maybe some other things I'm forgetting. He also gave me the saddle bags, dust cover, a leather bra to cover the air box, a leather Buell jacket and will pay for the 15000 service when I get it done. I got all this for $5500, good deal? - and hes my co-worker/friend so I know hes not hiding anything because he wouldn't be able to avoid me if something happened.

So I'm sure none of you really care to read about me or my new bike, the real reason I am posting is to ask if there is anything I should know about the bike or Buell which someone who is new to bikes should know?

I know it is a whole different animal from traditional modern sport bikes with the torque being very steady at all RPMs (he also gave me a copy of the dyno run).

I'm taking the NYS learn the ride class in the end of May which will also be a road test. In the meantime I will just ride around my neighborhood.