Thread: XB12s - Lumpy 'Til Warm. Typical?

I am new to Buells , new to American bikes and certainly new to EFI. But I recently picked up a babied '04 XB12X which ran rather poorly at first due, I suspected, to sitting for months with gasahol in it. A few tankfuls treated with Sea Foam improved things considerably, but it wasn't until I learned of (and corrected) the oil breather issues that I could say that that sweet old motor runs well - when it's up to temperature.
    When cold, until it is fully warmed it still wants to slap the gear train back and forth and misfire a bit at light loads, say idling along with traffic in 3rd gear. My question is, is this just the nature of the beast, given how heavily this engine has been breathed upon, or is there for example, some other sensor that could be easily cleaned that would improve the situation.
    If it's just hot cams and timing talking amongst themselves I can be very happy with that, but if it should be running better during the warm-up phase, I'd like to do what it needs.
    Thanks.

If you haven't adjusted the primary tension yet, do that. It's very easy to do, and made my bike a lot smoother. Change every single fluid in the bike, make sure the air filter is clean, throw in new plugs, etc. Start fresh with everything you can.

I would also undo the grounds in the tail section, clean the hell out of the connections (and sand the frame down a bit), put dialectric on it, and button it back up. Trouble with grounds can make the bikes run really oddly.

I'm also not sure if the 2004 has the ground wire bundle behind the headlight (on the steering stem), but if you do, check and see if any of those wires are frayed or broken. I've heard those can cause rough running too.

Welcome Todd,