Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Engine Surging/Hunting 2-3 rpm (again)

Hi guys, I've read through the forum and seen this issue has had lots of coverage already.
    I'm a Buell newbie (and trying to keep heart with such a potentially awesome machine) - and not much of a mechanic either.

The issue: engine surges/hunts especially at 2-3,000 rpm at small or steady throttle openings (much smoother when opened wide/accelerating hard or above 3,000 rpm) - so makes slow town riding or steady traffic around 20-35mph uncomfortable and takes the shine off such an awesome machine.

My new beast is a xb12x 2008 with Thunderstorm engine, stock exhaust (for now) and 9,000 miles.

Just had it given a full service by a backstreet indie Buell mechanic, so new plugs, HT leads, engine + transmission oil + filter in the service, but didn't have software for ecm or tps checks. Improved the condition a lot, but not completely.

From the forum, I see there are a number of possible issues/cures still to explore:

1.TPS reset
    2. ECM remap
    3. Tighten grounding wires
    4. Breather Mod
    5. Possible oil in the breather element (from over filled oil)
    6. Exhaust valve malfunction
    7. Any other suggestions???

Are any of these easy/best to try first as a newbie and unsure mechanic? - Or should I just keep throwing my hard earned cash at the backstreet guy or pay top whack for a Buell friendly HD dealer, bearing in mind the cost of working through all those issues...

Also, should I sort this issue before upgrading exhaust, or is the excuse of a new exhaust also a possible cure?

1 - probably not going to be your answer
    2 - shouldn't need it since you have the stock exhaust
    3 - should always make sure they are tight
    4 - try it, people have had good and bad experiences
    5 - maybe
    6 - zip tie the wire so it stays open, it won't hurt your ride but it will give you a better idea of what's going on