Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 2008 XB9SX Potential buyer

Looking at a 2008 Xb9sx, 9k miles, what do I need to look for as far as wear N tear, worn parts? I have zero Buell experience, previous bikes were 2011 Ninja 250 and a 2009 GSXR 750

Are there many aftermarket parts? I am wanting this to be a project I can make my own and customize.
    I can't risk it being a money pit though :(

2008 9K miles? That should be sweet as hell. Its like anything else, cables , motor seals, bearings. XB's aren't "money" pits compared to the average Japanese sport bike... the parts are actually less expensive in most cases. Yes there is a "aftermarket".. all the good engine stuff is American custom companies like Hammer Performance or Dark Horse.... custom body work usually comes from Germany "Fight Machine" or "Frank's Germany".... with Buell don't think "Bulk Aftermarket ala Honda" think more, "cottage industry" kind of like in the old days. You can make a good custom out of what is out there. Here is one I came up with , its called a "Lightningbolt"

So I went ahead and finished the deal. Bike has 9177 miles, needs a new rear tire and he's buying me a new battery tomorrow. Has cosmetic wear/scuffs here and there, no major damage. He'll provide the original mirrors, it has bar ends on right now. Came with owners manual and both keys, K&N filter. Cost? I traded a PTR91 rifle with upgrades/ammo. $1000 rifle, $250 ammo, $350 parts, $400 optic. So $2000~ how'd I do?

I will have a MILLION QUESTIONS, I'm excited to be a part of this forum

I keep bar ends on it .. then I would put the lower standard S seat on it.. touch up paint for the frame is available and the price is good. He bent over backwards to get you to buy it... strange. Looks good.. tail chopped already too.. I have that same bike but 2007.. you got a newer generation of that motor, that's good. stronger crank and oil pump gears.
    at 2000 you STOLE it ... he must have been a friend of yours..