Thread: Actual Mechanic Eyes Needed.

05 Buell XB12Scg (race ecm, jardine, breather reroute, K&N)

I am not a mechanic, while I have learned a great deal about my bike, I would be lying in stating I'm a mechanic. Just decent with a wrench.

I just overcame some issues with installing a new fuel pump and thought I was in the clear. But I soon had a issue with her stalling after start-up, but after a few minutes on the road she would be ok. But as soon as I stopped, and let her cool off, she would idle terribly/weakly and sometimes stall. But if I was able to get her moving a few feet she would stabilize a little. But she would randomly stall at lights.

I thought I had fouled the plugs, so I took a look and decided to replace. She burned through whatever crude there was, as I could see white smoke when I did the tps reset. Seemed to have solved my issue. Next day went on a ride and she seemed ok. But seeing my fuel light trip pretty quickly had me worried. I had already put 40 miles on the bike before I left to meetup and when I got to the gas station I saw I had only gone 75 miles. Burning fuel.

Refueled and went on a ride. It got hot that day on ACH and she again seemed ok. All day, no real issues, until I got down the mountain and got a drink to chill and wait for others. I didn't refuel as I was at 65 miles and no fuel trip yet. Started her back up and I got a little further down the road and she surged forward a couple of times and the CEL kicked on...but soon after it chilled out. The fan was running all the way till I got home, probably another 30 miles till I got home. But once I pulled up and turned the bike off, the fan stopped. This seems like a symptom when I had overfilled her with oil and fouled the O2 sensor. But not the case of overfilling her now.