Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: In over my head...Help!

Hybrid View

In over my head...Help!

Hey Guys I'm in over my head...

I'm pretty new to bikes and Buell. I don't log in much but I've spent some ass hours in front of a computer on the forum trying to learn about my new toy. The only motorcycle work I've done is an oil change. My very first bike is an 07 xb12s with around 17000mi I bought from a buddy a year and a half ago. Its mostly stock except for the engine breather reroute(Big thanks to the guys posting on here for that one). Last fall I took it on a 170 mile ride and when I got there I heard a noise and a front exhaust stud had snapped off flush. Not sure what to do I took it to a buddies shop and we drilled it attempted an EZ out and broke that off inside as well (FML). Having to work the next day I tucked my tail between my legs, tightened up the other side, limped it the 170 mi home, and parked it.

A week ago a neighbor gave me use of his shop to work on it. I took it for a test drive first (couldn't help myself) brought it back to the shop and heard a broken stud from the rear head....Yay! With full use of an old auto shop, many hours researching this forum, and enough farming experience to figure out lefty loosey righty tighty...I decided to tear into it. After I removed plastics I found the culprit. The front Exhaust mount on the bottom of the engine was completely missing. I figure the weight of the pipe plus all of the extra vibration was causing the studs to snap.