Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Noticeable power loss ... What's happening?

Noticeable power loss ... What's happening?

Hi all. I'm new to Buell. Picked up a 2007 in nice shape with low mileage. I love the bike!
    It needed an oil change, so I give it Mobil 1 V-twin synthetic 20w50 in the engine and primary/tranny. The engine runs a tad bit quieter and even seems to have less vibration, but the moment I hit the road, I noticed a loss in torque. I used to have to be careful to keep the front wheel on the ground in 1st and 2nd gear. Now it won't come off at all unless I twist the throttle hard at around 5k in 1st. In 5th gear, at WOT it just doesn't have what it did before. The bike still has lots of power and goes great, but there's a noticeable difference. I figured maybe the oil would take a bit of time to break in, but I've ridden it a few times now, and it doesn't seem to be changing.

I've searched around the forum and on google but couldn't find an answer that fits my experience. What do you all think could be happening?
    I have one theory: This is my second bike. My only other, and the one I learned to ride on is an 82 Yamaha Virago. The XB is a whole different world! When I first got on the Buell, I was intimidated. It is plausible that my increase in confidence on the Buell is translating to a perceived decrease in performance... but I really don't think so. There seems to be a distinct change. Even the sound of the exhaust seems suddenly more tame. It used to sound like an angry beast growling...

Anyone else experience a distinct loss in performance following an oil change?
    Last edited by ransomedsoul; 04-23-2016 at 11:54 PM.

Don't use synthetic in the primary.
    Well, that's what I recommend.
    I use formula plus. It can be found at any Harley dealer. I know, I hate those places too but to me it's a necessary evil.