Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: coach me: 09' xb12Scg Oil/Air/plugs

coach me: 09' xb12Scg Oil/Air/plugs

Hey Team!

I'm about to change my oil, air, and plugs. I watched the oil change video on youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SMuEHcP6iws
    This looks like it's the previous motor. Do I still have 2 places to change or is it shared oil?

I have the Hawk exhaust and stock ECM. Is there a preferred oil, filter, and air filter?

No problems with the bike minus a hesitation when i push the ignition button (like starved for power). Is there a preferred Plug?

Sorry for the rookie questions. I'm still a Newb to Buell and am in LOVE! This bike is way better than any of the pure sport bikes I've had.

Thanks,
    Jesse

ps. see the bike here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YAhYJ-pJBPw

Your bike is the same procedure to change the oil as that video. Some suggest to change the primary every other time you change the engine oil.

Amsoil 20w-50 vtwin
    Wix 51394
    K&N BU-9003
    PM me for Bluetooth info!
    Facebook.com/BuellBluetooth

buellmods.com

download the manuals here ^

AZmidget gave you the correct #s

the search feature at the upper right of the forum home page is your friend. Many, many threads on this.

Inactive
    oil full drain/motor/swingarm.....2.5 US quarts. any top quality 20-50 will suffice.
    trans/primary share same fluid...full drain...1 US quart. any top quality MOTORCYCLE SPECIFIC 20-50 will suffice. i prefer amsoil. it MUST have minimum JASO-MA rating and/or compatible with a wet clutch.
    plugs: NGK DCPR9EIX preferred. last the life of the motor.
    your hesitation: i call it compression bump....very common to all large displacement high compression v-twins with no factory type of compression release. a top quality battery and pristine terminals resolves most of it.