Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New XB12X rider looking for some misc info

New XB12X rider looking for some misc info

Hey everyone!

I'll start by confessing I am brand new to the world of Buell...but..after looking at them for the past year, I finally picked up an '09 Ulysses yesterday. (no pics yet, as it's still on the trailer, and needs cleaned badly after getting caught in a snowstorm yesterday) Since I'm stuck in bed today, I figured I would ask some questions!

I am looking for some information on what to expect when I work on it. I've been working on/rebuilding Suzuki's for close to 10 years, but they are obviously all metric. So, I am wondering what type of tools I should start looking at. I will be doing all my own work, unless it requires a specialty tool that costs more then the job. It doesn't seem to need nothing right away, but I want to be prepared for tire changes, brakes pads, etc. The tools for basic maintenance.

I've been researching a lot about the bike, and believe I will like it. I keep running into a problem though, a lot of the info is from several year old posts, and the link to sites that no longer exists. Anyone happen to have an up to date list of popular sites for the bike? Things like the best places to buy parts, parts cross reference list, best sites for whatever reason you like it. most of the sites I generally use, are primarily sport bike focused, and don't even have listings for Buell.

Finally, I have replaced the headers/mufflers on pretty much every bike I've owned. I found a LOT of info on the actual mufflers, but not much about replacement headers. Do most people here just focus on the mufflers, and leave the headers stock? I know I will have to alter the ECM, and am planning on using Buelltooth.

Thanks!