Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Thoughts on buying a Ulysses

Thoughts on buying a Ulysses

I've been riding for about three years now, on a Yamaha Virago 750 from the mid-90s. I'd like a bit more gumption at 65+ mph just to dodge crazies on the highway. I prefer sitting upright.

I've been considering a number of bikes, including the V-Strom 650 and the Yamaha Versys. I'm scheduled to test-ride an '06 Ulysses with under 20k on it later today.

I searched around the forum and didn't find too much in the way of specific guidance, but my question is basically this:

Is buying a used Ulysses like I describe a good idea or not? I don't mind wrenching on things, but I REALLY don't want to be stranded somewhere. I also don't like paying out the nose for parts. Egan's long-term review provides comfort, but I am concerned I'd be buying a motorcycle I'd spend more time fixing than riding.

So, fire away. Your thoughts?

The Uly is a solid ride. If you know basic mechanics, I'd think you'd be better off with it than even the stunning GS. The Bimmer is the king of that class of M/C for a reason, but my adventures are usually way, way from dealers and I'm alone. As rare as something going wrong is.. I'd rather have a shot of fixing it myself

Just one guys opinion

And, it looks like I put this in the wrong forum. Anyone want to help me out and move it to the XB12X forum?

I hate when that happens ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^ !

A Uly is one of Buells Best bikes untill he came out with the EBR 1190, Of course the ULY is a adventure bike, EBR is a world class sport bike. You cannot go wrong with a ULY ! IMO, I have had a couple.

So I've looked at this post a couple times but didn't feel qualified to post. For some reason I feel differently now. I purchased an 09 xt a few weeks ago. Been riding every day rain or shine to go to work, Costco or anywhere else. So far everything seems to be good, I have similar issues as others have posted though.