Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New owner to this bike; tuning questions

New owner to this bike; tuning questions

Please bare with me as I am just learning the ropes with the systems and methods of tuning these bikes. I picked up an '07 SS. It has the 'Race Use Only' box in it. So a few questions if y'all could help me out.

I am going to change the exhaust and since I don't know what the previous owner has installed, I'd like to start clean anyway so I know exactly what is running in this bike.

1. Is this Race use only black box part of the Race Kit?

2. Using a method such as BuellTooth, can I tune the bike with this installed or do I need to remove it? I've read some threads about a license, etc needed and I'm kinda lost at that point. If there is a specific thread or article that would be helpful for me to learn, I'd appreciate if anyone could kindly provide that.

3. Is this box even needed to tune with BuellTooth method?

4. If not BuellTooth method, is there some other process I SHOULD be following instead?

I can't think of any other questions but anyone please feel free to jump in if there is anything else that I should know. Assume I know nothing and you are probably right

I wouldn't touch the race ecm as it has race maps in it. You should post pics of the exhaust and we could tell you what kind it is. You might already have a great setup. You can still tune a race ecm but why if you already have a good setup. By the way yes it is used for better free flowing intake filter and exhaust.
    Last edited by rchuff; 08-08-2017 at 02:04 PM.

The exhaust installed today is Jardine. The can eeds chopped off and repacked because the rivets destroyed the pipe. I'm going to replace it....thinking Drummer SS or maybe Hawk if I can find a good used stock can.