Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What type of brake pads are best (New CityX owner)

What type of brake pads are best (New CityX owner)

Hello everyone. This is my first post on your forum. I'm glad to know there is a Buell community I can become part of! I bought myself a 2005 Buell Lightning CityX (I think it's a CityX) for Christmas. It's a high mile bike (87,000 miles) but was well taken care of by the previous owner (first owner). I'll have A LOT of questions in the future (I want a fender eliminator for the rear) but the most important thing right now is brake pads. I need front and rear. This Buell has a nice smooth rear disk and only slight distortion on the front disk.

I have been riding a 1987 Yamaha FJ1200 for the past 7 years and I always used organic pads because I heard the synthetics groove out the rotors. Should I stick with that plan? Does anyone know a good place to buy them? Can you give me a link?

Thanks for your help! I look forward to putting a lot more miles on this bike! Once I get new pads it will replace the FJ as my daily commuter.

David Allaband

Hi David, welcome to the forum!

You'll find the service manual is a handy thing to have. You can find a free .pdf download at Buellmods.com or Buelltooth.com. It will have a Vin decoder in the front that will define whether it's a City X or not.

EBC HH pads are pretty much agreed as the best all around brake pad for these. I'd PM Lunatic for them. He is super knowledgeable and has brake pads (and rotors) as well as many other service parts. You won't find a better source

Be aware that dirty brake hardware and improperly bedded brake pads can easily fake you out and act like a warped rotor which is really rare on these.

Enjoy the new bike! They are full of character, just like the guys on here
    Last edited by Cooter; 12-25-2017 at 05:07 AM.