Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Is an 1190 SX upgrade from 2008 XB9SX a good choice?

Is an 1190 SX upgrade from 2008 XB9SX a good choice?

I only got my 2008 Buell XB9SX CityX a couple of months ago and I love the bike (I've been eyeing up these XB bikes for about 2 years). In my research I find that the EBR bikes would be a logical upgrade from the XB. However with more reading I find that EBR bikes are very rare as they weren't produced as long so I am considering trading my XB for one. Is this wise? The EBR 1190SX I am considering looks to have been dropped once but not while moving and it has about 9K miles. I have to drive a few hundred miles to test drive and it will have to wait a few days for some snow to melt. My XB just rolled 10K miles and is fairly clean but has carbon fiber over the fuel frame pieces so I have no way to know if it was dropped or crashed before me but it doesn't appear so. I've ridden it about 500 miles since I purchased and I just love the bike with its cool streetfighter looks, v-twin torque and racecar sounds but it does pop quite a bit on decel with the jardine exhaust and I do sometimes wish it had just a bit more power and get-up-and go on acceleration (Not that I want to go 100mph but I do wish the XB was quicker on acceleration). My payments for the EBR will about double and my insurance will go up quite a bit into a monthly payment rather than a once per year payment. I'm just having a difficult time deciding if this is a good decision to trade or not. My thoughts are to get the EBR now and get another XB later since they are more plentiful. I mostly just ride about 7 or 8 miles to and from work and do fun under 50 mile rides as much as possible. I can do my own oil changes, pipes, intakes and basic tuning but I wouldn't call myself a very good mechanic. What do you guys think about this trade? What should I look for? Are there big maintenance things I need to be aware of for an EBR? (because my XB is cake). Probably d