Thread: Trade forks???

Trade forks???

Hey! First post and its gonna be a longshot, I know . I acquired a bone stock 08 XB12S that I am currently turning into something that is my own. It has the standard silver forks and triples. Was wondering if anyone was interested to trade for their black forks & triples? Mine are in great condition, bike has 18k on it.

On another note, has anyone had their silver fork setup powdercoated/painted? Any insight on this?

Glad to be joining what seems like a really great community. Not a total noob though, I've been riding two wheels since I was about 5, and have owned a couple of zx6r's the past few years

Thanks!

Welcome to the forum!

You can get them powdercoated but the thickness of the coating can be an issue. Anodise is much thinner and can be done at home too.

Check e-bay for used pars or SPHDonline.com for new ones. Black are desirable so....$$

IIRC the 1125 forks fit and are black. Someone please confirm, I'm not sure if they're the same diameter.

Thanks for the info! My only concern with anodizing is the potential for color fade after a few years, but I know that it is not very likely if done correctly and the bike is stored indoors. Powder coating would be ideal, but yes it depends on the coating thickness. I've heard multiple dimensions from different shops in the twin cities area. I may call up SPHD and make an offer on a set of forks they have for sale, I suppose the worst they can say is no
    Last edited by rtrofimovich; 05-30-2018 at 07:23 PM. Reason: typo

I powder coated a set of fork tubes black and didnt have any issues. You just need to be careful when you assemble into the trees cause the powder will scratch fairly easy. Also when i powder coat trees.... mask off the insides leave that area bare aluminum.