Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: Fit new belt on old sprockets?

  1. #11
    Senior Member lunaticfringe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    AmishLand, PA.
    Posts
    7,520
    Quote Originally Posted by LightXB12s View Post
    I have a 65 tooth rear sprocket (although the bike was imported & registered in the UK in 2003). Anyone know the part number for the appropriate belt? Thanks.
    Son....you better be damn sure what you have there before you go belt shopping. Kona spot-on as usual with his info above which is always outstanding. IF your 2003 S model is now sporting a rear 65T pulley/front 27T pulley......AND your old belt is 1-1/8th inches in width....then you'll need a standard 2004 and later S model stock belt which is 128T count. here's your factory part numbers:
    G0500.1AAH (suffix U8A) which supersedes all previous part numbers G0500.1AAA, G0500.1AAE, G0500.1AAG
    dealer list price is $186
    Goodyear----BDL---Panther also offer alternatives. pitch is 14mm.

  2. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    15
    New belt filtted as per the service manual instructions. (G0500.1AAH belt which is black not grey like the original and has a yellow strip running along it - Kevlar?),
    Bearings in the idler pulley also replaced. Thanks for all the advice!

    Only thing is that after a short ride the belt has moved a few mm off the rear sprocket. Will try to knock it back it in with a rubber mallet and see if stays in place...

  3. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    15
    Rear sprocket was changed as well to (a used but much better condition one). 27T front sprocket was not changed or even removed, as I couldn't feel any pitting on it.

    > Only thing is that after a short ride the belt has moved a few mm off the rear sprocket. Will try to knock it back it in with a rubber mallet and see if stays in place...
    Will be watching the rear belt position carefully before any I try any long journeys.

  4. #14
    Senior Member lunaticfringe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    AmishLand, PA.
    Posts
    7,520
    Will try to knock it back it in with a rubber mallet and see if stays in place...

    i wouldn't do that.............and it won't.

  5. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    15
    Nothing can do regarding it's alignment except watch it (it overhangs the sprocket teeth by1-2mm).
    Old belt never drifted in 15 years.

  6. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    15
    It is overhanging about the same amount all along where it meets the teeth but there is still a chance it might just be wheel/sprocket misalignment in the swingarm???

  7. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    15
    Doesn't look right, but hasn't drifted further in 100 miles of riding, so I'll stop taking a rubber mallet with me...
    belt-back-s.jpg
    belt-side-s.jpg

  8. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    141
    Mine looks exactly like that and hasn't moved in years. I found a very small fray in my old belt and replaced it although I probably could have kept on using my old one until it broke. But I figured better safe than sorry, not to mention, I got a cheap belt off of a guy parting out a bike.

    I'm at work and didn't ride my bike as it is still in the mid 100 degree weather here in Phoenix. But I'll try and get a picture this weekend.

  9. #19
    Senior Member konarider94's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    4,398
    I wouldnt worry about the alignment. You dont want it rubbing on that back flange all the time either. Glad we could help and it looks like we prevented you from ordering the wrong belt.
    Cheers

  10. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    15



Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •