Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Possible new owner, XB9R questions abound!

Possible new owner, XB9R questions abound!

Hello all,

I'd appreciate some patience from the veteran members, as I am as new as you can get when it comes to Buells.

I used to ride dirt and supermoto bikes, my last being a DRZ400SM, (well, it was its bastard cousin the Kawasaki KLX400 that I converted to supermoto.) I sold my last bike to buy a toolbox for my new job, and the itch is back and I have settled into my new gig and have some saved up to get another bike.

I have no experience on a street bike other than about 100 miles or so riding my friends bandits, FZRs, ect.

I am wanting to get a bike that I can commute on and enjoy on the weekends. My commute is 35 miles pure highway, so 70+ the entire way with only a few stops at lights. I have always been interested in a Buell, the quirkyness is definitely something that appeals to me. I love the sound and the looks, and don't need a rocketship liter bike. I ride casually, and never at the limit.

Would a XB9R be a decent bike for my needs? Reliability and comfort are my main goals, and I don't know enough about them to know if that is something the Buell can fill.

The bike that piqued my interest is a 2003 with 20,000 miles on it. What are things I should be looking for a wary of on the test ride and inspection?

Here is the bike in question.
    https://sfbay.craigslist.org/eby/mcy...727661277.html

Any tips or tricks for the bike would be appreciated!

Here is a picture of my last bike for the hell of it.

i forgot to add that I am pretty tall. 6'4", 190 pounds. tall and skinny. how are the ergonomics for a 30 to 40 minute ride on the highway for a commute and a weekend cruise every now and again?

ask how many owners , maintenance records , history, look for oil leaks around rear rocker box, look at the oil in swing arm. if there are no motor issues, IMO

more in details link
    http://buellmods.com/