, worry, tweaking, pear-shaped, plunge, successful, buellers, robbery, punching, loathed, wight, class, internet, problem, research, cornering, habits, conundrum, south, africa, dedicated, dealership, ground, buells, pretty, weird, roadbikes, owner, newbie, needed" /> Help - exhaust advice needed

Thread: Help - exhaust advice needed

Hi all. I am a newbie Buell owner, in fact new to roadbikes, i've always ridden BMW Adv's and KTM's.
    I bought a secondhand XB12STT last year and am loving the ride and weird cornering habits! My conundrum is the exhaust. I've done all the research I can via the internet, the problem being that here in South Africa Buells are pretty thin on the ground and we don't have a dedicated Buell dealership only Harley representation. The only third-party exhaust system available here is the Jardine and that is overpriced after all the import duties, freight etc. The local Harley store says they can take my pipe and open it up, remove the packing and put it back for roughly the same price as what a Jardine costs in the US. Another Harley dealer (1000 miles away) says 'don't, you'll never get the idle right, it'll run lumpy, blah, blah, blah'. There seems to be such conflicting views on this forum about the whole race ECM thing.
    Can anyone shed some light on these concerns:
    1. I really want a louder, deeper beat but not at the cost of having to worry about erratic performance.
    2. Race ECM's are not available here and Harley says the can't fiddle with the stock one. I guess I could get ECM spy from the US but then I think i'd be punching above my wight class!
    3. I'm loathed to give them (HD) my pipe to gut as if it all goes pear-shaped I can't just put my 'old' pipe back on.
    4. I could take the plunge with the Jardine (after a successful bank robbery!) but from what i've read that pipe needs a race ECM or tweaking of the std ECM at the least.
    5. I don't know any other Buellers here.