Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Which device to check error codes?

Hybrid View

Which device to check error codes?

I understand there are about 3 or more devices to check error codes. Does someone have positive experience with this one?

https://shop.ecmcables.com/ECMDroid....uell-Stock-ECM

ECMDroid Bluetooth ECM Tuning Dongle Lite

I'm not a mechanic, but need to check an CEL error code on my 2009 Buell xb12Ss.

You can also download the service manual .pdf from Buellmods.com of Buelltooth.com for free and it will tell you how to jumper the leads on the diagnostic connector to get the codes.

Post what you find here. ECMDroid is a fantastic tool for diagnosis, we'll help you the best we can

Inactive
    nothing needed other than a simple jumper wire. this won't clear them but....will identify them. works like a charm.
    DO THIS:

First thing to do is locate your diagnostic test plug. It's an empty four pin connector. If you're looking at it with the pins facing you and the locking tab at the 12:00 position, the pins are numbered as follows:

Pin 1 -- upper right corner
    Pin 2 -- lower right corner
    Pin 3 -- lower left corner
    Pin 4 -- upper left corner

With the ignition switch off, install a jumper wire across pins 1 and 2 in the diagnostic plug.

Turn the ignition switch to the ON position and wait approximately 8 seconds for the check engine light to start flashing.

All trouble codes are sent out as a series of flashes. To rettrieve the first digit of the code, simply observe the number of times the lamp flashes.

The transmission of a trouble code is always preceeded by six rapid flashes (about 3 per second). This transmission is followed by a 2 second pause in which the lamp is off. The lamp will then flash one or more times to indicate the first digit of the trouble code. The length of time that the lamp will be either on or off when indicating a trouble code is about 1 second in duration.