Thread: XB12r with poor running past 1/4 throttle

XB12r with poor running past 1/4 throttle

I have looked at several other posts with this title and doesnt seem to apply to this bike. I am a very experienced tech, but no buell experience. Bike starts fine, idles a little rough and when you nail the gas it bucks and hiccups then clears out intermittently and will run up to redline. Does it all the time, not intermittent. Here is a list of the new parts; Fuel pump, tps, cylinder head temp sensor, o2 sensor, crank sensor, coil, plugs, coil wires, fuel injectors, air temp sensor. All oem parts. ECM spyware installed and tps reset procedure performed 3 times. Intake manifold seals replaced, no sign of air leaks. Ran some additional grounds into the harness. Battery and cables good, no corrosion, cylinder head ground strap clean. Need a direction to move in. on a side note, its the first fuel injected bike i have worked on without a map/barometric pressure sensor. Seems odd it doesnt use one.

any suggestions would be appreciated

thanks

dave

What year bike, race or stock ECM and just out of curiosity, what is your AFV at? Also,what is your idle set at including degrees (ecmspy)? What type Of plugs are you using? Did you perform tps reset when the bike was at running temp? Is your throttle bottle boot pushed all the way down and sealed, you should be able to run your finger inside and feel it butt up flush. FWIW you can’t just crack the throttle WFO from idle without a little hesitation from my experience, then again I’ve only owned a Buell for just over a year and though I do all my own work as a part time home brew wannabe poser mechanic I’ve been able to accomplish every task through this site. Gurus will be chiming in to help.

What are the mods on the bike ?
    What is the elevation where you live ?
    Was it doing this since you first got it ?
    Last edited by njloco; 08-09-2019 at 01:16 PM.